It was united to Cork for almost two hundred years.
This diocese lies entirely within County Cork, extending east and west nearly 63 miles in length, by a breadth of 29.
CLOYNE PALACE, County Cork, was built in 1718 for the Right Rev Charles Crow, Lord Bishop of Cloyne, 1702-26.
The last bishop to reside at the palace was the Right Rev Dr John Mortimer Brinkley, who died in 1835.
The see of Cloyne thereafter became united with that of Cork and Ross.
The house is unusual in plan and elevation.
It underwent a number of alterations and additions over several hundred years, giving it today a unique appearance with a multiplicity of roofs.
The remarkable west elevation, used as the front, conceals a notable double-height single-storey space.
It retains many notable early features, including timber sliding sash windows.
There are outbuildings, gates, and a gate lodge, which provide added interest and context.
The palace and demesne were leased by the Church of Ireland, in 1836, to Mr H Allen.