Thursday, 31 December 2009

New Year Honours 2010

The New Year Honours List for 2010 is headed by the Lady Carswell, OBE, lately HM Lord-Lieutenant of Belfast, who has been appointed a Commander of the Royal Victorian Order (CVO).

It seems to have become a tradition now that Deans of Belfast are appointed Officers of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (OBE). This honour is, I feel, well deserved; particularly in recognition for the charitable work done and the annual "sit-out".

So the Dean of Belfast, the Very Reverend Houston McKelvey, QVRM, TD, is now, also, an OBE.

The Honours List published by the mass media is not comprehensive, because it excludes appointments to the Royal Victorian Order.

Kenneth Montgomery, Principal Conductor, Ulster Orchestra; for services to Music in Northern Ireland. (Amsterdam, Netherlands) becomes an OBE.

David Anderson, MBE, formerly Hospitality Manager, Hillsborough Castle, Northern Ireland Office, is appointed a Member of the Royal Victorian Order (MVO).


Peregrine's Bird Blog said...

Im sorry you didnt get a New Years Honour maybe next year ;-)

Have a Happy New Year!

Timothy Belmont said...

The Right Honourable Timothy William Earl of Belmont, For Services to Royal Blogging etc etc.... blah, blah

Ha ha! Still waiting in the wings for some kindly soul to nominate me; perhaps if I'm still at it in 20 years time! :-)