Wednesday, 18 May 2011

Irish State Visit: I




The Queen and The Duke of Edinburgh departed from Royal Air Force Northolt this morning for the State Visit to The Republic of Ireland.

Her Majesty and His Royal Highness were received at the Airport by the Earl Peel (Lord Chamberlain), Her Majesty's Lord-Lieutenant of Greater London (Sir David Brewer), Ms. Barbara Jones (Counsellor, Irish Embassy) and Group Captain Timothy O'Brien (Station Commander).

The Queen and The Duke of Edinburgh today arrived at Baldonnel Airport, Dublin, and were received by Her Majesty's Ambassador to the Irish Republic (His Excellency Julian King Esq CMG), Mr. Eamonn Gilmore (Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs), Mr. Robert McDonagh (Ambassador from Ireland to the Court of St. James's) and Brigadier General Paul Fry (Chief of Staff of the Air Corps).

Her Majesty and His Royal Highness drove to áras an Uachtaráin [former Viceregal Lodge] and were received by The Irish President and Dr. Martin McAleese and Mr. Enda Kenny, Irish Prime Minister.

The Queen inspected the Guard of Honour.

The Queen and The Duke of Edinburgh were entertained to Luncheon by the Irish President.

Her Majesty and His Royal Highness, with Irish President and Dr. McAleese, later visited Garden of Remembrance, Parnell Square East, Dublin, and were received by Mr. Alan Shatter (Minister for Justice, Equality and Defence).

The Queen laid a wreath.

The Queen and The Duke of Edinburgh afterwards visited Trinity College Dublin, the University of Dublin, College Green, Dublin, and were received by the Provost (Dr. John Hegarty).

Her Majesty, escorted by the Provost, and His Royal Highness, escorted by Mr. Robin Adams (Librarian and College Archivist), toured the College, viewing conservation work and meeting students and staff.

The following are in attendance:
  • The Rt. Hon. William Hague MP (Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs),
  • Diana, Lady Farnham, 
  • the Hon. Mary Morrison, 
  • the Rt. Hon. Christopher Geidt CVO OBE,  Private Secretary to The Queen
  • Mr. Edward Young, 
  • Mrs. Ailsa Anderson, 
  • Dr. Edward Perkins, 
  • Ms. Colette Saunders, 
  • Surgeon Captain David Hett RN, 
  • Group Captain Timothy Hewlett, 
  • Commander Patrick Lacey RN, 
  • Major Dan Rex and 
  • Brigadier Archie Miller-Bakewell.

No comments :